Collins Cobuild Advanced Learner's English DictionaryThe fourth edition of this dictionary offers learners of English detailed coverage of the language. Containing hundreds of new words and thousands of definitions written in simple, natural English, it is easy to use and understand. The examples, which have all been taken from the Bank of English, have been revised and updated for this edition, and are valuable in providing context for words and phrases. Grammatical information and additional information on synonyms, pragmatics and frequency is shown in the Extra Column, making it easily accessible.
Fecha de publicación: 2003-09-01
Longman Dictionary of Contemporary EnglishThis edition of the dictionary contains three dictionaries in one: Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English, Longman Language Activator, and extracts from Longman Dictionary of English Language and Culture. Interactive activities feature on the CD-ROM as well.
Fecha de publicación: 2003-03-18
Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary Por A. S. Hornby; Sally Wehmeier (Editor)A new, completely rewritten edition of the leading dictionary for learners of English. Now fully up to date, including many terms connected with the Internet and electronic communication. 4,500 words and meanings are new to this edition. Excellent coverage of both British and AmericanEnglish, and colloquial as well as formal English. All information is authenticated by the British National Corpus and the Corpus of American English. There are explanations of common symbols (e.g. @), which are not included in any major competitor, and notes on interesting word origins. Easy touse, with a rapid-access page design, shortcuts to the right meaning in long entries, and easy definitions using a carefully chosen defining vocabulary of 3,000 words. Numerous illustrations, including 8 pages in full colour, show vocabulary items in related groups, 10 illustrated topic pagesprovide essential vocabulary, and show how to use it, and vocabulary notes show students how to improve and enrich their writing.
Fecha de publicación: 2000-06-08
Oxford Dictionary of English Por Oxford LanguagesThe foremost single volume authority on the English language, the Oxford Dictionary of English is at the forefront of language research, focusing on English as it is used today. It is informed by the most up-to-date evidence from the largest language research programme in the world, includingthe two-billion-word Oxford English Corpus.This new edition includes thousands of brand-new words and senses, as well as up-to-date encyclopedic information, and extensive appendices covering topics such as countries, heads of state, and chemical elements.New features include Word Trends which showcase language research based on the Oxford English Corpus and illuminate the extraordinary stories behind fast-changing words of everyday English.12 months' access to Oxford's premium online dictionary and thesaurus service is included with this book, so you can get accurate definitions and synonyms wherever you are.Find out more about our living language using Oxford Dictionaries Online - updated regularly with the latest changes to words and meanings, so you have the most accurate picture of English available. Use the thousands of audio pronunciations to hear how words are spoken. Improve your confidence inwriting with helpful grammar and punctuation guides, full thesaurus information, style and usage help, and much more.
Dictionary of English Synonyms and Antonyms Por Rosalind Fergusson; Market House Books Ltd. StaffThe Penguin Dictionary of English Synonyms and Antonyms is the ideal work of reference for both home and office. Anyone who has found themselves stumped for the best and most appropriate word or who wants to avoid repetition - whether student or writer, politician or advertiser, after-dinner speaker or crossword fanatic - will find this easy-to-use dictionary invaluable on every occasion.